PUBLICATION OF “PAGES FROM MY PAST”

own self 1

To my dear readers,

Some fifty articles written in this blog will soon be published in a book form. These articles, which bring together my recollections of the life and people of Muar town has surprisingly received very good response not only from my family members and close friend but also outside the family circle. I am encouraged to bring together some of these recollections into a book – a more permanent record that will make the stories easily accessible to all.

A team has been set to realize this.

The soft cover book will have about 400 to 500 pages and will consist of 50 articles with images where possible.

The publisher plan to launch the book sometime in the middle of October 2013.

I wish to extend my utmost gratitude to all my readers which is increasing by the day as shown in my blog statistic. Thank you so very much.

Best Regards,

Kamaruddin Abdullah

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to PUBLICATION OF “PAGES FROM MY PAST”

  1. Bapak Irfan says:

    Let me be among the first to say; Congratulation to Uncle Din!!!
    Such a true Muarian…

    Hopefully we gonna have some WokWok’s “asam pedas” and “sotong hitam” feast during the launch!

  2. Halida De Ste Croix says:

    Assalammulaikum,

    Congratulation Mr Kamaruddin and best wishes.

  3. Lolong G Mali says:

    Congratulation Din, I could hardly wait for your articles to be published. I be there for the launching. Like I said I bumped into your blog about a month and half ago. I took the opportunity to read patiently all your previous postings in convenience of my leisure time. All the episodes were flashbacks which consciously divulged from my inner memory bank which I recounted for rewinding and forwarding to and fro of my past to the present.

    For me, the historical episodes of your stories in the 60s were recollections which I tracked back the meaning of my happenings. Recalling the young mind of the 60s made my thoughts younger. As I went through freedom and liberty I gained the meaning and sense of maturity. The wish and my hope of being wise in wisdom.

    Your previous postings on ‘climbing trees’ explains.

    Your last paragraph has its pleasantry in relation between Man and monkey/apes, applicable to the theme of the story, though humor is central.

    In my anthropology classes, the subject of similarity between Man and Apes was ponderously debated striving and scrambling to understand in questioned that Man came from the Apes. It is thought we have evolved from a common ancestor. However, the evolution in fossils of incomplete scientific evidences fall short of the theory, rans the trail of the missing links.

    But it had captured my attention. By a gleam of understanding to connect on to the issues of similarity and difference of Man and apes was the behavioral eagerness and fond of climbing trees. A demonstration of attribution which is in common. Man born, walks upright since infancy on land and tries to learn to climb trees but apes born and swing on trees and learn to walk on land. A simple observation from my simple mind.

    More to that, our five fingers griped are similar but use for different purposes. The evolutionists are saying through evolution the eyes of the apes gradually moved to the front for binocular vision. The most important discovery the fossils record showed in the skeleton remains of Java and Peking men suggested the similar characteristics of Man which the Apes man were using much of their legs to walk.

    The central affirmation which vaguely stance their scientific evidence is the Ape man’s upright position. In the fossil of bones structure, the Ape man’s foramen magnum allows the spinal cord to connect with the base of the brain slightly away and not completely underneath the skull, a slide posture of an upright position indeed. Interestingly, the Ape man’s teeth were set for crushing action too, similar to our teeth but they were vegetarians as evidences in a gorilla and chimpanzees communities.

    In this community, the apes communicate verbally like us but with hoots, grunts, screams and other vocalization. The language which we do not understand but expert understands. Jane Goodall an anthropologist who studied the social and family interaction of wild Chimpanzee could understand their reaction of behaviors through their communicational interaction. For instance from her facial expressions a mother chimpanzee screams and hoots at her infants wrong doings.

    No wonder and now I understand why I often heard these cordial greetings and reception phrases of Melakan’s colloquial, “m..ne kau gi Be…?” “la habow kau Be…! Lma kita tak umpa Be!, ni anak kau ke Be…?, mari Be..mari ni Be… kat Pak Cik Be…”. receivable when I was a kid. I think the Be…. refers to Berok. They already knew we were like monkeys symboling by their addressing and responding praises.

    Moreover, my parent used to scream at me, “hey Berok, turun, turun, Mak kata turun Beruk, tunggu le mutan tu masak, dah merah boleh panjat, turun Mak kata turun, degil betul Berok ni, nanti Mak baling batu baru tahu,” she was angry. “turun lah…,” She persuaded me to come down. “Berok, kalau Mak kata turun….” She paused her anger. “turun le…”, She coaxed me again.

    You know, when some mothers started to yell they would unlikely to stop. Actually, it was not about climbing the trees and getting the fruits but more of her concern to prevent us from falling down and break our legs or necks. For monkeys, they are the champions in climbing trees decorated with medals of super-swinging acrobats and aerialists. They hardly to fall down.

  4. Harith says:

    Congratulations Abg Din, I am equally elated!
    And back to Long G Mali’s long response – it do bring me back to some memory during my early university days in the late 70s and early 80s. It was also here that I first come into contact with a subject that touches on the study of man – its origin, physiology and evolution in a field called anthropology and also sociology – the study of man in society.
    And most of the lecturers that taught me and the rest are those with doctorates from the UK and US and they brought along some ‘alien’ thoughts on the origin of man – along with the philosophy of Darwin, Keppler, Marx and alike.
    And if Lolong G. Mali’s is an academia in anthroplogy in some university here – he must have surely heard notable names that time like Dr. Hood Salleh, Dr Aris Othman, Dr Maulud, Dr Sanusi Osman, Dr Abu Hassan Othman – they are all my former lecturers and they must now be in their late 60s
    It was also during this time that I got the chance to venture into another subject – ethnology – and also my first to come into contact with an Orang Asli community deep inside Senggarang!

    • Lolong G Mali says:

      Salam Harith with Din’s permission,

      At last, Din and Lollong G Mali met at the common joint, warong Uncle Don. A witty meeting we had acknowledging my identity in a cordial reception.

      As I was walking toward the joint, I saw Din with his acquaintances and cliques before Don’s delicacies and  teh Tarik as their chasers. He did not notice me coming in, I think. A long sighted defined by an ophthalmologist, Din has an X-ray eyes. He could simultaneously scan in seconds a hen and a duck, the articulate eyes and mind from a eidetic observer without being noticed. Just kidding Din!

      Warong Uncle Don is uniquely bear by its name. A small open space with planted plants within its perimeters. Wooden barbecue attached seats and tables are the main feature in reference by the sitting arrangement, placed orderly which give us ample space to walkabout. The delightful  ambience is guaranteed for an evening leisure with friends and families. This environment could helps in our digestion system after our treat of Bariani Gum Muar. Above all, it is a meeting place to meet up with old and new friends at our convenience. Saudara Harith, if you ever in Kuala Lumpur, do drop by at warong Uncle Don. Do you smell the aroma of me promoting warong Uncle Don? Hey hey!

      Unfortunately, I am not a professional academician. Their names mentioned did not ring a bell during my university days in North America. But I do know they are minds of the academic excellence except for Dr Sanusi Osman who becomes partisan of a political party, a little ‘pink’ in my view but is alright with me.

  5. lau pei pei says:

    Dear Din, my sincere congratulation to you on the forthcoming launching of your book. I wud suggest that it be done on a more than average scale: with press publicity, well known muarian who make their name in various aspect and are proud to be associated with other muarian be invited, another suggestion is to revitalise the muarian association in kuala lumpur. i notice that there were once upon a time a persatuan anak melayu johor or things like that but has become a politcal platform for some people. this time around it is sugggested as MUARIAN ASSOCIATION.with no political connection at all, its agenda shud be just getting muarian together and a pro temp comittee be form at the time of launching your book. thanks Din, at last i will be getting your book for my children. regretfully , i will not be around that time since i will be on attachment in Osaka , japan

  6. Harith says:

    Unlike foodstuff or most other perishable items, books has no shelf life and has no expiry date…we can measure the popularity and acceptance of books by the masses through sales figures and also how many reprints it has gone through after its first release.
    I wish that Abg Din’s maiden book will be well-received by readers. It must not necessarily come from Muarians or the people of Johore as the market will be too small for it to break-even (despite knowing that it’s not the main intention of Abg Din venturing into this). He just want to share his experience and vivid memory (while he still can) of growing up in Muar in the early years and to leave something useful behind for the younger generation.
    But truly, Abg Din’s writings has national appeal and full of flavor despite having Muar as its background setting. I believe it will be well received in other parts of the country if it is properly marketed – the publisher will take care of this! When William Shakespeare or Charles Dickens wrote books, I don’t think they know or foresee that it will one day make to the shores of countries beyond England!
    Finally, to Abg Din and all other ‘true’ Malaysians….Merdeka!

Leave a Reply

